Topic: Couple of amps I'm looking at, any other ideas?

hey I'm a newbie here Im' just looking for a new amp in the 15 to 1800 dollar range I play mostly Classic Rock, Blues and a bit of hair metal.

Clapton
Boston
Zeppelin
ZZ Top
Van Halen
and obviously I love Joe's tone.

the amps I've been thinking really hard about have been the Splawn Quickrod, Ceriatone 2550, Bogner shiva, and the Granger M50.

I want the brit sound but want it to be thick and singing, you know what I mean I think.

Re: Couple of amps I'm looking at, any other ideas?

Maybe a Marshall 1987 50 watt clone + pedals?  The new Vintage Modern would cover a lot of those sounds.  I'm thinking if you had to choose one amp the obvious choice would be something of the Marshall vein.  Check out Metro, the have a lot of good kits if you are handy with a soldering iron and patient.

'67 and '74 Fender Twin Reverbs, '74 Marshall 1987 lead mkII, Metro Superlead 100. Pedals from TC Electronic, Ibanez, Dunlop, BK Butler, Electro-Harmonix, Fulltone, Maestro/Gibson, Loopmaster switching, VoodooLab, Boss. Gibson and Fender guitars, Dimarzio pickups.

3 (edited by BVer 2009-05-07 05:07:14)

stratpaulguy86 wrote:

Maybe a Marshall 1987 50 watt clone + pedals?  The new Vintage Modern would cover a lot of those sounds.  I'm thinking if you had to choose one amp the obvious choice would be something of the Marshall vein.  Check out Metro, the have a lot of good kits if you are handy with a soldering iron and patient.

I've considered the VM but it was a bit muddy for my tastes, I  considered the 87x also I'm still thinking about that to. I'll check out the metro stuff.

any opinions on the quickrod, apparently it is a Plexi on steroids which is what I'm looking for. the Shiva I think has to much gain for me though.

the 2550  Is just a Jube clone and I'm really considering that. the M50 is also a plexi clone on steroids

How many watts?

I would also consider the Budda SD45. Or the SD 80.