Topic: amp switcher vs a/b box

Question for those of you who use multiple amps. I have never used multiple amps before but it is something I would like to experiment with. I know they make amp switcher pedals and also plain a/b boxes. Obviously an a/b box will only do two amps but was is the advantage of using an amp switcher pedal over just using an a/b box (aside from being able to control more than 2 amps)?

Re: amp switcher vs a/b box

Careful because an A/B box will generally only allow you to switch BETWEEN 2 amps, not blend them.  You will need at least an ABY pedal for that.  I would avoid the Morley ones because they suck.  I only bought one because I wanted something cheap to see if amp blending was for me.  Lehle, Voodoo Lab, Whirlwind, Framptone, Radial, and a few others are the nicer ones.

PS:  Ground lifts are a MUST because your amps may hum like crazy without them.  Besides it makes the rig a lot safer so you don't get shocked...been there! sad

'67 and '74 Fender Twin Reverbs, '74 Marshall 1987 lead mkII, Metro Superlead 100. Pedals from TC Electronic, Ibanez, Dunlop, BK Butler, Electro-Harmonix, Fulltone, Maestro/Gibson, Loopmaster switching, VoodooLab, Boss. Gibson and Fender guitars, Dimarzio pickups.

Best straight up amp switcher I have found is a Palmer.  Individual ground lifts.  Great for if you have three amps.  If you have four it gets a bit more complex..
Joe B

Well, in fact the guys said everything... Will you use 2 amps or more?

I have tried two Lehle pedals, the P-split which is a 2-way passive looper
with isolated outputs (a must have to avoid ground hum) phase switch and ground lift.
Here a both outputs permanent active. Means you can NOT switch between the amps.
But its very smal sized and compact.

The other is the Lehle Dual. In fact with the same spaecs as the P-split but here you can
either switch between the amps or even run both. It needs a power supply of 9v